FEATURED POEM

VANITY’S FOOL

© 1987 Norman Samuda-Smith

 

When I was a yout in school

I didn’t wanna leave and be no fool

I wanted big wages in a office job

Drive a flash car, ride wid me sound

Me and me bredrins spend off nuff pounds

Buy quality clothes inna de latest style

Rest wid me Empress fe a likkle while

Bu’n couple spliff wid ‘Neville’ and ‘John’

And when weekend come

We guh rave in London!

^^^^^^^^^^

When me come out of school

Unemployment was de rule

There was no big wages in a office job

Me never drive a flash car, but me still ride wid me sound

Me and me bredrins had to hussle fe de pound

Me never have all de quality clothes inna de latest style

But I rest wid me Empress fe a likkle while

I still bu’n couple spliff wid ‘Neville’ and ‘John’

And when weekend come

Me and me children had some fun!

^^^^^^^^^^

Listen me good all you youts in school

If you don’t wanna be vanity’s fool

Turn to yuh talent!

Mek it yuh golden rule!

If you are a yout in school

Don’t idle and be vanity’s fool

^^^^^^^^^^

INSPIRED BY: ECCLESIASTES; Chapter 11: verses 9 and 10.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ 

Rejoice, O young man, in thy youth; and let thy heart cheer thee in the days of thy youth, and walk in the ways of thine heart, and in the sight of thine eyes: but know thou, that for all these things God will bring thee into judgement.

Therefore remove sorrow from thy heart, and put away evil from thy flesh: for childhood and youth are vanity.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

*All rights reserved.  No part of this poem may be reproduced in any form or by any means without prior written permission of the writer Norman Samuda-Smith.*

Leave a Reply

