FEATURED POEMS

Sunday March 14 2010 was Mother’s Day.  I trust all you mothers received your cards and flowers, were spoilt and you were told to put your feet up while your tribe cooked the Sunday dinner.  So in keeping with the celebration of our mothers, here are a couple of poems specially dedicated to you…

 

IF WE COULD 

© 2009 Norman Samuda-Smith

 

If we could give you diamonds for each tear you cried for us

If we could give you sapphires for each truth you’ve helped us see

If we could give you rubies for the heartache that you’ve known

If we could give you pearls for the wisdom that you’ve shown

Then you’ll have a treasure Mom that would mount up to the skies

They would almost match the sparkle in your kind and loving eyes

But we have no pearls, no diamonds, as we’re sure you’re well aware

So we’ll give you gifts more precious

Our devotion, love and care

 

MY MOTHER’S GARDEN

© 2009 Norman Samuda-Smith

 

 My Mother kept a garden
a garden of the heart.
She planted all the good things
that gave my life its start.
She turned me to the sunshine
and encouraged me to dream
always fostering and nurturing
the seeds of self-esteem…

And when the winds and rains came
she protected me nuff, but not too much
cos she knew I needed to stand up strong and tough.
Her constant good example
always taught me right from wrong
markers for my pathway
that lasts a lifetime long.

I am my Mother’s garden.
I am her legacy.
And I know today she feels the love
reflected back from me

 

Blessings go out to each and every mother all over the world.

Jah Bless 

*All rights reserved.  No part of these poems may be reproduced in any form or by any means without prior written permission of the writer Norman Samuda-Smith.*

Leave a Reply

